The Witches Cupboard Merry Meet

Today’s episode

How I converted to becoming a witch. First of all I was raised a Catholic, however my mother and grandmother had always practiced witchcraft. I would watch as my sister was sick and my mom and grandmother would take an egg and with salted water by her bedside they would sprinkle her with the saltwater and then rub the egg all over her body, after placing the egg under her bed overnight she would be able to sleep soundly… then the next morning my grandmother would crack the egg. The egg was filled with dark blood, (they would repeat this ritual every night until the egg was normal) the second day the egg contained bright red blood, the third day thin traces of blood. Then the fourth day, the egg was clear.

My sister has always been sensitive to attacks as a child and even as an adult (in a later episode I will share some of the horrific instances, which I speak of).

So ever since I could remember there was always this THING we did. My mother would tell me and my other siblings not to speak of. We already weren’t liked in the Catholic Church and the school we went to and that was for just being Latinos. Never mind being known for witchcraft.  So for years I watched and learned, but as all of us got older my grandmother wouldn’t speak of witchcraft and then my mother wouldn’t. Because of the Catholic Church scaring them into feeling like what they were doing was evil.  Never once did my mother use her knowledge to harm another person. She would tell me that spells come back to you three times worse, so if you are in danger best to just use brute strength and kick some ass  if you must, but walk away if you can. My mom figured if you can talk your way out of a bad situation then good but if you have to defend yourself physically then the other person will truly understand your meaning afterward (all this form a women 4’11”).

So after a long while of my family depriving themselves from their natural instincts, I desired to understand my families’ way of life further. But before the internet all I could ever find was books in the library and they were all about devil worship and folklore that always portrayed witchcraft as being about killing babies and kissing cat ass. So I went to the only person I could talk to and ask about the craft and finally my grandmother spoke to me about it and told me that she learned everything she knew from her  mother and  grandmother and  they learn from their grandmothers…  What she learned was how to read the weather through the trees, and the smell of the air. How different plants could stop a fever, how the salt from the sea could cure a sore throat if you trickled a sprinkle down your throat at the first sign of a sore throat, and how nature was the energy meant to be used to heal your life of trouble and so much more. I was very excited to hear how much she used to love practicing her craft, but then she told me she never knew she was wrong for practicing witchcraft until the Catholic missionaries came to the island, and showed her how she was going to go to hell if she continued.

I felt so sorry for her, because you could see it in her eyes that she was ashamed now of how she once lived.  She asked me not to go into the craft and I didn’t for a long while until one day my life was spinning out of control and something literally called to me, that there was a way for me to become strong again. I waited for about a minute and then I began to think about how when I was very little and I felt like my little life was not going the way that I thought it should my mom would tell me to wait for the full moon and as soon as I could see it out of my window to take an egg and a glass of water and ask the divine to help show me the way.

After I had that memory I began to look up witchcraft and the path that I would begin to take.

SO after buying several books I will list some here, I began to understand more about what my mom and grandmother knew and had in some ways left behind.  I felt an immediate kinship for the Goddess. I felt stronger knowing I had finally found her and that she now knew I would always love and utilize her gifts. I felt freedom that I never had in Catholicism. I still had some trepidation about becoming a witch but after speaking to both God and Goddess I learned that I wasn’t leaving everything that I had learned in being Catholic but now I could peel back the lies that were printed in the Bible. Mans lies that were meant to stifle the Goddess and women.  I can say that I still read the Christian bible, but I just keep what is true for any one of us, treat others as you want to be treated, don’t kill, steal, and several other important life messages that any good witch already knows. But now I know that with the power that God and Goddess have given me I am not at the mercy of life but that I have the power to help change my life and help others with all that I am.  A wonderful feeling from a person who always felt that she was being punished for being a girl, and who had no power.  I am powerful because my God and Goddess tell me so and I believe in them.

I hope you feel it too.

My next post will be about tools of the trade. What you think you need and what you really need …

Till next time

Blessed Be

Luna Noir

Example of the egg on full moon spell.

Take a glass of water, crack the egg and pour the yolk and the egg whites into the water, leave the glass on the windowsill so the moon shines upon it, and with all your might ask for the answer to come by morning. When you wake without moving the glass see what shapes that are in the glass which were made by the egg yolk and egg whites and see if you understand the pictures that can be seen in the glass.

One Response to “The Witches Cupboard Merry Meet”

  1. I WAS GIVEN A BOTTLE OF WITCHE’S BREW AS A GIFT, I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING ELSE EVER AGAIN! WELL DONE LEELANU CELLARS. WELL DONE!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.